Whitecross Hereford is delighted to be able to offer the Duke of Edinburgh Award at both Bronze and Silver levels. It is an exciting opportunity for students to get involved in a variety of different activities. Students have to complete three sections which they organise themselves; volunteering, a physical activity and learning a new skill. They will also take part in an expedition; for the Bronze award students will be away overnight and be on expedition for two days. For the Silver award students will camp for two nights and be on expedition for three days. Students receive training in areas including map reading, first aid and camp craft. It is is a fantastic opportunity to learn something new, help others, get fit as well as develop team working skills and independence.




Training schedule for Year 9 Bronze Award students 2017 - 2018

All training sessions are held in HU5 

Thursday 28th September     Introduction to maps
Thursday 12th October     Setting the map. Compass activity

Thursday 2nd November     Map skills.

Thursday 16th November     Map skills and timings
Thursday 30th November      Route planning
Thursday 7th December     Weather and countryside code and aim of expedition
Thursday 11th January      Equipment and kit
Thursday 25th January     Hazards and relocation
Thursday 1st March      Menu planning and food ideas
Thursday 15th March      Trangias and cooking
Thursday 29th March      First aid
Thursday 26th April     Re cap on skills
Saturday 28th April     Training Walk
Thursday 17th May     Kit allocation and skills re cap
Thursday 7th June      Kit allocation and skills re cap
     
Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th May Practice Expedition
Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th June Assessed Expedition

Girls

want to get in touch?

Whitecross High School
Three Elms Road
Hereford
HR4 0RN

email: reception@whitecross.hereford.sch.uk
Tel: 01432 376080
Fax: 01432 272971