Whitecross Hereford is delighted to be able to offer the Duke of Edinburgh Award at both Bronze and Silver levels. It is an exciting opportunity for students to get involved in a variety of different activities.
Students have to complete three sections which they organise themselves; volunteering, a physical activity and learning a new skill.
They will also take part in an expedition; for the Bronze award students will be away overnight and be on expedition for two days.
For the Silver award students will camp for two nights and be on expedition for three days. Students receive training in areas including map reading, first aid and camp craft.
It is is a fantastic opportunity to learn something new, help others, get fit as well as develop team working skills and independence.

Training schedule for Year 9 Bronze Award students 2018 - 2019

All training sessions are held in HU5 at 3.05pm - 4.05pm 

Group 1

Thursday 13 September     Edofe Log in
Thursday 20 September     Edofe Log in
Thursday 4 October     Map symbols
Thursday 18 October     Orientating the map
Thursday 8 November     Pacing and timing
Thursday 22 November     Contours
Thursday 6 December     Trangias and cooking
Thursday 17 January     Compass work
Thursday 31 January     Menu planning
Thursday 7 February     Tents
Thursday 7 March     Hazards and re location
Thursday 14 March     Weather and countryside code and aim of expedition
Thursday 21 March     First aid
Thursday 28 March     Re cap of skills for day walk
Saturday 30 March     Practice day walk
Thursday 4 April     Route planning
Thursday 2 May    Route planning
Thursday 16 May    Kit allocation
Saturday 18 and Sunday 19 May    Bronze Practice Expedition
Thursday 6 June      Kit allocation
Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 June    Bronze Assessed Expedition
Thursday 20 June    Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Presentation

Group 2

Wednesday 12 September     Edofe Log in
Wednesday 19 September     Edofe Log in
Thursday 27 September     Map symbols
Thursday 11 October     Orientating the map
Thursday 25 October     Pacing and timing
Thursday 15 November     Contours
Thursday 29 November     Trangias and cooking
Thursday 13 December     Compass work
Thursday 10 January     Menu planning
Thursday 24 January     First aid
Thursday 7 February     Tents
Thursday 28 February     Hazards and re location
Thursday 14 March     Weather and countryside code and aim of expedition
Thursday 28 March     Re cap of skills for day walk
Saturday 30 March     Practice day walk
Thursday 11 April     Route planning
Thursday 9 May    Route planning
Thursday 16 May    Kit allocation
Saturday 18 and Sunday 19 May    Bronze Practice Expedition
Thursday 6 June      Kit allocation
Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 June    Bronze Assessed Expedition
Thursday 20 June    Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Presentation

Girls

want to get in touch?

Whitecross High School
Three Elms Road
Hereford
HR4 0RN

email: reception@whitecross.hereford.sch.uk
Tel: 01432 376080
Fax: 01432 272971